Writing for Numbers…………………

comment-follower-stats

In a world filled with click bait, lie’s and copy cats, I find myself asking the question do people really care what I talk about? Does the fact that I write according my to my own schedule really matter? Does the content have substance?

Have I began to write for numbers? You know, write for views? Am I a view junky?

The answer is yes and no. I admit I do look at my stats and pay attention to what people like the most.  I do see a pattern.  In no way do I want to jeopardize my feelings or views on a subject just so I can get views.

I used to share my writings on Facebook, which allowed me to have a larger audience but I found that people weren’t really paying attention. I would have to beg people I considered friends just to read my content.  I got to the point where I said I will not share content through this medium but I will make it available to those who would want to see it via a link. That will show me if people really cared.

I must share with you all that in the amount of time that I have had this blog that it has continued to grow. It means that I have a voice and that people are enjoying the content that I write.  I don’t write frequently because I believe in having content that provokes deep thought as it relates to gaming, literature and life.

. I admit it is a challenge trying to establish, maintain and exist among such talent here on WordPress.com. However, I believe that if you write from the heart and are sincere in what you believe that the people will follow you. I can attest to this fact, as I now I am nearing 100 followers. For some people this maybe miniscule number but for me this is no small accomplishment. I’d rather go slow and gain the trust and interest of people than to rush and offer nothing different from the millions and millions of people that write on here every day.

I am grateful for my place here on WordPress and I am grateful to my fellow bloggers who have reached out to me and have shared my content with others. I can never allow numbers to stop me, I hope you will not either. Remain encouraged regardless of what your stat pages shows, keep writing and know that your audience is on the way to you if you remain consistent in your ability to engage them.

Never take numbers as an indicator per say but keep going. I am not saying be ignorant to the numbers I am saying if you keep working hard in the paint, when you lift your head up you will find you’re not alone in the paint anymore!

 

To my fellow writer’s, bloggers, followers, friends, or anyone in general, never compromise in what it is that you believe and what you want to accomplish! Please don’t only write for numbers but let it be in your heart!

Thanks for reading and make sure to follow, comment and share!

2 thoughts on “Writing for Numbers…………………

  1. Everyrosehasathorn August 3, 2014 / 8:43 PM

    I don’t know if I would say numbers dictate what I write about, but it does push me to make sure I am actually posting regularly to make sure I don’t disappoint the people who take the time to read my page. I’m glad I’m not the only one that’s not numbers crazy!

    • englishgameruninhibited August 3, 2014 / 8:46 PM

      Hi thanks for following and commenting. Yes, number serve a great purpose but I am saying don’t be blindsided by them. I think if your content flows from your heart or even if your one of those people who just spits stuff out and people like it. Let that be your indicator with that I think we can never go wrong!

      It is a challenge trying to make sure you keep peoples attention and to post frequently as well as you stated but I think that if you do enough that it will last! Thank you for your time!

Leave a Reply

