Gaming and Religion

Sometimes I wonder if games the games that we play will send us half way to hell! Yes hell is real.

download (5) images (1)download (6) download (7)

Kill this, Stomp him, and Finish her, all these things make me think about how religion has apart if any, in the games that we play.

As a Christian, I look the Bible in which says not to kill but as a gamer in the games that I play killing is not an option, it’s a requirement.

I have encountered people who were changed mentally by their personal beliefs and religion to the point where the games that they played, they could no longer play. For example, Gears of War was suddenly too violent, Injustice Gods among Us, had the name of God speaking to many God, not just one.

The games began to conflict with their personal relationships as well. I think that gaming is a great hobby to have and should not be taken seriously as you are not committing the crimes and or actions on your own in real life.

Virtual gaming is just that, virtual. I don’t think that gaming should affect ones religion.  Where religion would affect our gaming is if you begin to imitate the actions that your characters are doing on screen in real life.

I believe there are consequences to our actions and the road that you take in life can lead you to your destination, the one that you choose, Heaven or Hell.

This is why I don’t think gaming should influence our behavior though, in my research I found that it does influence some.  I belief that with a balance of religion or some type of belief, one will stay clear from the influence of the characters on screen.  Not only religion but some type of moral and or standard will also stop one from engaging in negative behavior.

 

What are your thoughts on religion and gaming? Should the two go together? Be sure to follow, comment and share.

3 thoughts on “Gaming and Religion

  1. stephenwrhodes May 31, 2014 / 2:22 AM

    I am also a Christian and this is definitely a tough subject. I would say that I agree with you. I do so many things in games that I would never actually do in a million years. Like you said, I think that as long as we don’t live as some of these characters do, there’s nothing wrong with stepping into their shoes, and enjoying their stories.

    • englishgameruninhibited May 31, 2014 / 3:08 PM

      Hi thanks for your response! I totally agree, religion is a hard subject to talk about but having the right foundation will definitely allow one to make the right decisions and avoid negative influences. Thanks for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

