Black men in the video game industry ……………………..

downloadimages (1) images (2) images (3)

As promised, here are my thoughts on black men in the video game industry. Of course there are black men in the industry who are involved in developing games. Their are spokes persons, those who do Quality Assurance, also known as game testers and finally those who develop games.  In terms of the industry, there aren’t that many black men in the forefront.

I can name Hip-hop gamer who is video game journalist, as someone that comes to mind as a black male in the industry. Sure, there are plenty of people who are doing their own thing independently, but not for major websites and companies. The fact remains there aren’t many who are main stream that I know of.  I have seen a few, they either have their own special area in which they are only used for a particular thing or they are deep in the background.

It seems that there are more black males that play video games than those who choose to get involved. I know this topic has been talked about before and as time passes I know it will get better.

I want to see people who look like me talking about games, working on games, being in the forefront. I am just speaking on a observation. This is not to knock anyone doing their own work independently or to any other website representing them that I am not aware of. I just would like to see more diversity involved in our favorite pass time.

Certainly video games are played by all types of people but I can’t help but feel that not enough diversity exists. It’s not a black or white thing, but it’s a gaming thing. Everyone should be involved if they choose. I feel that popular sites should definitely take this into consideration when hiring as they want to reach people.

What are you thoughts on this post? Do you feel that race or diversity is a issue in the main stream video game industry? Do you see more of a certain race than another? Be sure to like, comment, share and follow.  Thanks.

For more information on Hip-hop gamer go here to his website: http://hiphopgamerinc.com/

One thought on “Black men in the video game industry ……………………..

  1. drakulus23 February 2, 2014 / 9:56 AM

    From games that i’ve played black people are always stereotyped as being “ghetto” with the exception of Crysis. Prophet is a badass. I’m half black and I would love to see more black people on the forefront of gaming.

Leave a Reply

