One Life to Live

download

images

We have one life to live but the characters we play with in video games have many. How seriously do you take the life of these characters?

I have been playing Tomb Raider in which there have been many ways established for her to meet her demise.

Falling off cliffs, being impaled by metal objects and of course being shot by the ever present enemies are a few but do we cherish the lives of our digital brothers and sisters?  Do we take risky jumps and jarring leaps of faith? Yes, the character die I suppose you can always try again as it is only a game.

Do the characters have a say in the way we play with them? For example. If you’ve ever played one of the old Tomb Raider games, you can try to run into a door and if the door was locked Lara would say “No” and shake her head.

One of my most recent experiences was playing Super Mario 3D Land on the 3DS.  I had such a difficult time trying to maneuver around the levels. I would fall into the background and fall off the platforms. Mario died so much on this game that I could hardly count. Not even the special suit that you get once you die a few times could stop him.

It was at that point that I realized that I would have to pass on playing Mario for  a little while, for he surely had changed much over the years. Well not him, but I.

I think the more challenging the game, the more life is lost.  What are your thoughts? Have you ever paid attention to how many life’s you have used during the course of a game? Be sure to like and follow.

 

 

Leave a Reply

