Visual Stimulation

wpid-Soul-Calibur-5ivy.jpeg

Are graphics Important?  What about Power?

Are graphics important? Do we need to be stimulated with our eyes to appreciate a games worth?

Super Mario Brothers on the NES lacked the graphical finesse we see today but it possessed a challenge.

The Xbox One and the PS4 have both raised the bar in terms of graphic fidelity but does it matter? It depends on the person I guess.

I love graphics but gameplay is just as important.  You may prefer gameplay overall. Games like Horizon Zero Dawn continue to blur the lines between great graphics and gameplay.  The game received a 9.3 from Ign.com. I must admit that I was sold on graphics alone as a child.  I left the Nintendo Entertainment System for the Sony PlayStation.  It was something about the graphics on PlayStation that stood out to me.

 The first game to ever catch my eye was Tekken.  When I saw, the character named Jun cracking another character bones it made me jump inside. Not because I was feeling the pain but because I was intrigued by the graphics.

As you can see graphics do play apart but to what extent, you decide.

Now let’s talk power! The Xbox Scorpio is coming out this Holiday season. So far all we have been hearing is about its specs. The specs are impressive, don’t get me wrong but the games are just as important. You can have all the power in the world but without any games it means nothing.

What if there are games? Are developers taking advantage of the most powerful console ever created?  Will they be held back by the original Ps4 and the original Xbox one? These are questions that gamers want answered.

If you follow this blog, I did a post not too long ago titled “Dear Microsoft what are you doing”? You can read it here. In it I ask the big questions as to what they are doing. Turns out that they have some tricks up their sleeves for this year’s E3. I am not an informant or anything of that nature. It’s just wishful thinking.

I’m looking forward to the graphical bar being raised with project Scorpio.

Are you looking forward to E3? Are graphics important?

As always be sure to comment, share and like.

Leave a Reply

